John Meyer .me

Letters, Links, and Love from the Life of John Meyer

  • Tweet This!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • johntmeyer on 12seconds

  • 9 Clouds on Facebook

    FB.init("40d215795117fa72869e0de709266985");
    9 Clouds, Inc. on Facebook

Somewhere in middle America

Posted by johntmeyer on May 12, 2009

Where’s a great place to have an amazing weekend full of great networking and awesome business lessons? I’m guessing Omaha may not make your shortlist. However, last weekend Omaha was just that. I met incredible people, learned valuable lessons, and enjoyed many laughs and fun times along the way.

Big Omaha

My highlights included hanging out with other Sioux Falls web nerds @mikebilleter @btilus @aaronmentele and @brupert. All great guys who do awesome work in the SF community. I also got to meet and speak with headline guest, Gary Vaynerchuk, of WineLibrary.tv. During Gary’s Q/A I actually stood up and asked him if he was hiring. He said, “You want to move to NYC?” I replied, “I’m from South Dakota…. so that sounds pretty cool!”

Me and Gary

Me and Gary

We then spoke for a few minutes after the entire conference was over and exchanged emails. I must say, Gary has already replied to my email and we’re going to discuss some potential opportunities. Don’t ask me how that all unfolded, but it was amazing.

Other than that, I really enjoyed Jeffrey Kalmikoff’s talk about the importance of transparency within a business and social community. Kalmikoff is from Threadless and is a very creative dude. Ben Rattray also spoke with some great passion about social entrepreneurship. Rattray is the founder of Change.org and wants people to pursure their goals now and not wait until you have enough money or feel that you’re ready. As Rattray said, if the desire is there; the best time is now!

If you have any questions about Big Omaha or anything else feel free to leave a comment or email me at john.meyer2@gmail.com. For more information on who spoke and their background I’d recommend checking out www.bigomaha.com.

One Response to “Somewhere in middle America”

  1. […] John Meyer recaps the conference and his experience after asking Gary if Wine Library was hiring. […]

Leave a Reply

 
